ProUniEdu-WeK: Practice-oriented University Education in Western Kenya

The need of the Kenyan employment market for qualified professionals with a practical university degree is enormous but not adequately covered by the rather theoretically oriented Kenyan higher education system. The enhancement of this system by elements of a more practice-oriented higher education, which is designed with the involvement of industry and economy, can counteract this.

To help with this, the DAAD (German Academic Exchange Service) and the German Foreign Office are promoting a program to establish a network of German and Kenyan universities with the goal of providing essential elements of practice-oriented education in the Kenyan higher education system. Interested Kenyan university teachers and young scientists are being informed and trained about teaching by and at a German Universities of Applied Sciences (UAS) . These training measures are designed, organized and carried out by German UAS and include integrated practice-oriented modules in companies.

Since 2017, the Brandenburg University of Applied Sciences (THB) has maintained close ties with the Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology (MMUST) in Kakamega (Western Kenya), in particular in support of the NGO Agrokenya, which was founded and led by a master graduate of the THB.

With the establishments of the DAAD-funded project ProUniEdu-WeK, in addition to the School of Agriculture, Veterinary Sciences and Technology (SAVET), further schools and departments of the MMUST were involved in the cooperation: School of Natural Sciences (SONAS), School of Public Health, Biomedical Sciences & Technology (SPHBST) and the School of Engineering and Built Environment (SEBE). In the present blog the activities within the framework of the ProUniEdu-WeK are described and illustrated by the project actors:

- The first exploratory trip to Nairobi and Kakamega in March 2018

- First workshop at MMUST in May 2018

- First workshop at THB and MHS in september 2018

- Second exploratory trip in March 2019 to Kakamega and Eldoret

- Second workshop at the MMUST in May 2019

- Second workshop at THB and HNEE in September 2019

ProUniEdu-WeK: Practice-oriented University Education in Western Kenya

Der Bedarf des kenianischen Arbeitsmarkts an qualifizierten Fachkräften mit praxisorientiertem Hochschulabschluss ist enorm, kann aber durch die stark theoretisch ausgerichtete kenianische Hochschulausbildung nicht ausreichend gedeckt werden. Ein Ausbau des kenianischen Hochschulsystems durch Elemente der praxisnahen Hochschulausbildung unter Einbindung von Industrie und Wirtschaft kann dem entgegenwirken.

Um dabei mitzuhelfen, fördern der DAAD und das deutsche Auswärtige Amt ein Programm zur Vernetzung deutscher und kenianischer Hochschulen mit dem Ziel, wesentliche Elemente der praxisorientierten Ausbildung der deutschen Hochschulen für Angewandte Wissenschaften (HAW) im kenianischen Hochschulsystem zu etablieren. Dabei werden interessierte kenianische Hochschullehrer und Nachwuchswissenschaftler über die Lehre an einer HAW informiert und geschult. Diese Fortbildungsmaßnahmen werden durch deutschen Hochschulen für Angewandte Wissenschaften konzipiert, organisiert und durchgeführt und sollen auch integrierte praxisorientierte Module in Unternehmen miteinbeziehen.

Die Technische Hochschule Brandenburg (THB) unterhält seit 2017 enge Beziehungen zur Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology (MMUST) in Kakamega (West Kenia), zunächst zur  Unterstützung der NGO Agrokenya, die durch einen Absolventen der THB gegründet wurde und geleitet wird.

Im Rahmen des oben genannten Rahmen DAAD-geförderten Projekts ProUniEdu-WeK wurden neben der  School of Agriculture, Veterinary Sciences and Technology  (SAVET) weitere Fachbereiche der MMUST in die Zusammenarbeit einbezogen – so die   School of Natural Sciences (SONAS), die School of Public Health, Biomedical Sciences & Technology (SPHBST) und die  School of Engineering and Built Environment (SEBE).  Im vorliegenden Blog werden in die loser Folge die Aktivitäten im Rahmen des ProUniEdu-WeK durch die Projekt-Akteure beschrieben und bebildert:

–  Erste Erkundungsreise nach Nairobi und Kakamega im März 2018

–  Erster Workshop an der MMUST im Mai 2018

–  Erster Workshop an der THB und der MHS im September 2018

–  Zweite Erkundungsreise im März 2019 nach Kakamega und Eldoret

–  Zweiter Workshop an der MMUST im Mai 2019

–  Zweiter Workshop an der THB und der HNEE im September 2019